Here Are the 2013 CFDA Award Nominees—Not Last Year’s, This Year’s

Say what you will about the predictability of the Oscars—at least those nominees are a new batch each year. The same can’t be said for the CFDA Awards, held June 3 at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall. But that would be impossible and, let’s face it, it’s nice to see designers get their due accolades for another year of hard work.

Announced tonight, this year’s CFDA award nominees are: Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang, and Proenza Schouler for Womenswear Designer of the Year; Michael Bastian, Thom Browne, and Duckie Brown for Menswear Designer of the Year; and Alexander Wang, Proenza Schouler, and 3.1 Phillip Lim for Accessory Designer of the Year.

Another, perhaps more effective, gauge of where fashion is going are the so-called emerging talent awards. Underwritten by Swarovski, this year those are Suno, Creatures of the Wind, and Cushnie et Ochs for women’s; Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder, and Public School for men’s; and Pamela Love, Jennifer Meyer, and Irene Neuwirth for accessory design.

Additionally, Givenchy’s Riccardo Tisci will receive the International Award; Vera Wang will get the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award;’s Tim Blanks will take home the Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard; Oscar de la Renta will receive the Founders Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert; and the Board of Directors’ Tribute Award will go to costume designer Colleen Atwood.

Leave a comment